South Asia

The Indian subcontinent, known today as South Asia, includes the present-day countries of India, Pakistan, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Nepal, Bhutan, Sri Lanka, and the Maldives. A center of civilization for at least 5,000 years, this region was the birthplace of the religions of Hinduism, Buddhism, and Jainism. Images of major religious deities in mythological scenes and rich decorative designs are popular themes of many works in the Museum’s collection, which includes sculptures, paintings, and drawings.